Skip to content

Call for Nominations: 2nd Sergej Zilitinkevich Memorial Award

Call will be open between 14th February – 16st May 2022

Sergej Zilitinkevich was an extraordinarily creative scientist. His main research area was boundary layer dynamics and turbulence. He utilized his knowledge widely in different scientific disciplines. The following organizations have jointly decided to establish the Sergej Zilitinkevich memorial award:

  • World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
  • European Meteorological Society (EMS)
  • International Eurasian Academy of Sciences (IEAS)
  • Atmosphere and Climate Competence Center (ACCC)
  • Institute for Atmospheric and Earth system Research (INAR)
  • Finnish Network for Atmospheric Sciences
  • Finnish Geophysical Society
  • Finnish Foundation for Aerosol Research

The award is an international award that will be delivered annually to a creative scientist who has made breakthroughs in “Boundary layer studies in Atmosphere and Ocean sciences”.

Nominations for the award are openly selected within international research networks, particularly those related to Zilitinkevich’s activities.

Nominations for the Sergej Zilitinkevich Award


Nomination letter

  • 2-5 Supporting letters
  • few supporting letters with several signatures are preferred
  • nominations letters describing contribution and impact would be preferred

Curriculum Vitae

  • including a one page summary
  • including supervision and education activities

Publication list

The documents should be sent to cc by 16th May 2022.

For more information, contact the Chair of the Nomination Committee markku.kulmala(a) or the Secretary of the Nomination Committee hanna.k.lappalainen(a)

Nomination Committee members

  • Petteri Taalas World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
  • Heinke Schlünzen European Meteorological Society (EMS)
  • Valery Bondur Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS)
  • Markku Kulmala